If eating Duckfat is wrong, I don’t want to be right

13 Jan

Duckfat on Middle Street

Happy New Year everyone! I am sorry I haven’t posted in a few weeks, but I took a little time off over the holidays. To get back into the swing of things Mark and I popped into a place we hadn’t been in over a year—Duckfat. There is simply no reason that we haven’t been there in so long, aside from the fact that we always just seem to lose sight of it…that is, until now.

The place was packed when we rolled in at 5:45 p.m. so we had to wait about five minutes for a table, but it was worth it because we ended up in the front window. It was also perfect timing because every day from 4-6 they have half-priced pounders and wine. I wasn’t planning on drinking, but this was such a good deal it lured me in. So, Mark ordered his standard Brooklyn Lager and I ordered a Narragansett Porter.

Half-priced pounders for Happy Hour

We also ordered the large fries ($5 during Happy Hour, another good deal!) with Thai Chili Mayo and Curry Mayo.

Belgian Fries, fried in duckfat

The fries were incredibly crunchy and substantial. The fat they were fried in gave them a richness and texture that makes fries other restaurants serve seem like health food. We preferred the Thai Chili Mayo over the Curry Mayo. The curry mayo was just too overpowering. It masked the rich, fatty flavor of the fries instead of adding to them.

After the fries we were ready for more (duck)fat. Unfortunately the panini’s don’t get a special happy hour price, but we ordered them anyway. Mark decided on the Meatloaf Panini. It comes with bread and butter pickled veggies, horseradish mayo and cheddar cheese.

Meatloaf Panini

Mark absolutely loved it. The pickled red peppers on it were extremely fresh and delicious. While it didn’t have an overwhelming wow factor for me (there are just so many amazing choices) he just can’t stray away from this panini. He has gotten it every time he has eaten here, proving why it has lasted for so long on the menu.

I went for something I haven’t had before, the Corned Beef Tongue Reuben. I have been really into beef tongue lately, so I was extremely excited to try this.

Corned Beef Tongue Reuben

First of all, let me say, the beef tongue was so tender it was melting in my mouth and fusing with the amazing flavors of the swiss cheese and sauerkraut (which they get from Morse’s in North Waldoboro). Top all that off with just a small dab of 1000 island dressing and you have a meal fit for the Gods. It was incredibly filling, so I think next time I would just get one and split it, but it was so good I ate the entire thing. Between that and the fries, I will be on Lipitor by June.

Overall, I think this is great high brow pub grub in Portland. Its ever-so-slightly off the beaten path location only adds to the charm of it. The laid back vibe of both the staff and the patrons is contagious, and no one seems to be in a hurry for anything here (though I will say food comes out fast and hot). The exposed brick walls are lined with magnet boards to come up with your own magnetic poem or phrase to just while away the hours drinking and eating great food. Rob Evans has certainly succeeded in creating a neighborhood joint for the budget conscious consumer. After all, Hugo’s doesn’t figure into everyone’s budget, but everyone in Portland certainly deserves a taste of his culinary creations.

Duck Fat on Urbanspoon

7 Responses to “If eating Duckfat is wrong, I don’t want to be right”

  1. forefrontfash January 13, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    beef tongue? you are so adventurous and you make it sound delicious. and if eating curry mayo is wrong, i don’t wanna be right either…

  2. kate. January 13, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    amen. i also frequently overlook the place, but love it once i remember to get in there. however, the beignets are not what i have in mind- they’re more like fritters than beignets.

    • Eat Here. Go There. January 13, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      We had the chocolate ones once…my guy loves his chocolate and he found those to be practically inedible. Not the NOLA beignets that’s for sure.

  3. osdjff38laksdjf January 13, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    You went to Duckfat and didn’t get their tomato soup?

    Or their $5 milk shake? I don’t mean the one currently on the menu for $4.99. No, I mean the original one, on the back of the menu, it’s up to $9 or $12 or something by now. Don’t ask me what you have to do (beg) to get them to make it an anything other than freaking vanilla.

    • Eat Here. Go There. January 13, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

      I heard they have (or had in the past?) a salted caramel milkshake that makes people weak in the knees. I had a strawberry shake there before. It didn’t rock my world. Milkshakes are $6 now…seems like highway robbery. I’ll get that soup next time! Thanks for the recommendation, and thanks for reading!

  4. Zita February 25, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    We live in Boston and come to Portland several times a year, stopping for lunch at Duckfat almost every single time. We LOVE the duckfat fries, not believing we are eating them since we’re usually focused on healthy eating. They’re crisp on the outside with pure potato flavor and texture on the inside. The best trip there involved my husband ordering his absolute favorite original vanilla shake and then he actually ordered one to go! The duck confit panini is a gem. We recently brought French friends there and they can’t stop talking about it despite having to wait for 40 minutes at almost 2 pm on a Saturday afternoon. Can’t wait to go back.

Leave a comment