East End Cupcakes, Popular Varieties are Lacking

10 Aug

Salted Caramel and Red Velvet Cupcakes

When I was walking around the Old Port last weekend I started craving something sweet. I wasn’t really in the mood for my usual ice cream fix, so I racked my brain to think of something I hadn’t tried yet. Then it hit me! I was at an event for Dress for Success and Mainely Mara said that East End Cupcakes on Fore Street are to die for. I decided to see how my taste buds felt about them.

I walked into this unassuming shop by Condom Sense around noon. There was no one in the shop besides the lady behind the counter. She greeted me very warmly. I looked at the assortment, which I felt was slightly lacking and started asking about additional offerings, which is how I found out they make Red Velvet and I was DYING to try it (it was not out on the counter and there were no signs advertising all the different combinations they carry=frustrating). I decided to go for one Red Velvet and a Chocolate one with Salted Caramel icing.

She packed up my selections to go so Mark and I could savor these puppies at home. I must say, the Salted Caramel icing was extremely light and fluffy, but it hardly had a caramel flavor at all. It almost tasted like salted vanilla icing to me. The chocolate cupcake was a bit dry too—needless to say I was disappointed. The Red Velvet was better, but not by much. The cream cheese icing was good, but almost seemed like it was just a runnier version of Duncan Hines, and again, the cupcake was too dry. Call me crazy, but I like my cupcakes moist!

Overall, for $2.25 a cupcake, it didn’t stand out to me. Mara must have had something I didn’t try yet, because I know that lady knows her stuff in and around Portland, so for that fact alone, I will return at a later date.

*Sigh* Until then, I’ll be trying somewhere else for my cupcake fix.

7 Responses to “East End Cupcakes, Popular Varieties are Lacking”

  1. kate. August 11, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    yeah, we had some of those during our tasting, and i thought the cake was dry too- like it was over cooked. and i had some minis at taste of the nation and they were waaaay too sweet. too bad. try ylime’s chocolate salted caramel coconut down at CBD in the east end.

  2. Eat Here. Go There. August 11, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    I was just expecting something more…I’ll have to hit up your recommendation in the East End! Thanks Kate! Love your blog btw! Keep eating🙂

    • iwannawearthat August 17, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

      I’m so disappointed! I wanted to check out their cupcakes. I loooove red velvet too so I’ll have to find another cupcake spot for my cravings.

      • Eat Here. Go There. August 18, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

        They were DEFINITELY lacking. Someone said Two Fat Cats is good…might try that soon. Thanks for reading @iwannawearthat

  3. Bob August 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I had these cupcakes yesterday – 1 chocolate with salted caramel & 1 Lemon. I feel the exact same on the chocolate as mine was also dry and the frosting was really not distictively caramel tasting. The Lemon had a better flavored cake as it had fleck of lemon zest for a pop of flavor, but again dry & heavy cake. Won’t be back anytime soon at $2.50 a cake.

  4. kate. September 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    i have had luck with any of the ones w/ cream cheese frosting. i’ve had cream cheese frosting topped w/ toasted coconut on both a vanilla and a chocolate cake. both pretty good! my friend reported the red velvet (also w/ cc frosting) was pretty good too. maybe they’re getting better?

  5. Mary G October 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I bought cupcakes there last week – 1 choco with salted caramel and 1 choco with peanut butter. Both were dry and the icings lacked flavor. Boo.

Leave a Reply

