Chocoholics and Alcoholics Unite!

26 Apr

A few nights ago Mark and I were craving something sweet and savory. We had recently heard a rumor that Portland has a Bar of Chocolate, yes that would be a bar dedicated to all things chocolate! Immediately we knew we had to check it out.

Little did we know that this little Wharf Street gem would not only have a case full of amazing homemade desserts, but they also have Absinthe. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the much-loved, made famous in France, neon green liqueur let me tell you–it’s not for the faint of heart! I have had it numerous times, and the overwhelming flavor of anise (black licorice) makes me despise it every single time. Mark, on the other hand, loves it. Since he hadn’t had it in a while he decided he had to have one of the bar’s unique concoctions, which is aptly named ‘Death in the Afternoon.’ So, at our candlelit table Mark proceeded to have a drink that would make anyone buzzed after a single serving: Champagne mixed in equal parts with Absinthe.  A true, liqueur’s quicker glass.

Death in the Afternoon

I decided on something sensible to go with my dessert–an Argentinean Malbec. So, while Mark happily swilled down his beloved green poison, I sipped my wine. Then, our cake was delivered!

Salted Caramel Cake

We decided to go with the salted caramel cake since we had come in craving something sweet and savory. While the cake itself is a bit dry for my taste, the icing and the salted caramel on top clearly makes up for any moistness that the cake is lacking. It’s simply amazing. I find myself craving it once a week…so between there and Red’s Dairy I will weigh 1000 pound by Labor Day.

So, stop in The Bar of Chocolate, by Cinque Terre on Wharf street. It’s great for pre-or-post-dinner drinks and/or dessert!

The Bar of Chocolate Cafe on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Chocoholics and Alcoholics Unite!”

  1. forefrontfash April 27, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    i don’t like anything anise flavored so absinthe ain’t my jam. more for mark!

  2. Phil June 30, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    What are prices like for deserts? Also, where on Wharf street is this place located? I’m trying to recall from memory and I don’t think I’ve ever noticed this place, is it next to Gritty’s or down a little ways?

  3. Eat Here. Go There. June 30, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Phil- The prices are about average for dessert ($6-8). The drinks are the same. It’s actually right below the wine bar and essentially right beside Cinque Terre. You should definitely check it out. The also have a great Sunday brunch according to Dan Zarin at the Bollard.

Leave a Reply

