Take Your Mouth Down South at Hot Suppa

30 Jul

Hot Supper, a very well-know breakfast establishment, started serving dinner a few months ago. I have been dying to try it, but for some reason the idea was always falling off my radar. Well, NOT THIS TIME KIDS!

I came home Thursday night feeling (I’m not ashamed to admit this) too lazy to cook. Mark and I racked our brain for someplace to go when he suggested Hot Suppa. It was a resounding yes, and in two shakes of a lamb’s tail we were off!

We walked into the lively little establishment around eight o’clock. It was still bustling and there were only two empty tables left in the place. The vibrantly colored walls and local art certainly make you feel like you stepped out of New England and into the Bayou South.

Their menu is also very Cajun inspired. Lots of shrimp, fish, made with love jambalaya and so much more! They also have an awesome speciality drink menu. Since it was so darn hot out, I opted for a Pimm’s Cup ($6.95) so I could pretend I was at Wimbledon. Mark ordered a Whiskey Smash ($6.95), because there are two kinds of liquor that man can’t turn down– whiskey and scotch. The drinks came and proved to be perfect choices for a hot summer night. Mine was light and delicious with a subtle hint of cucumbers, just how I like it. Mark’s was very refreshing with a nice minty flavor.

Since we had gotten our drink fix, we decided it was definitely time to order. There was an Oyster Po’Boy ($11.95) that tempted me on the specials menu from the minute I walked in. I went for that with the homemade Maine cheddar mac! I mean why not, right? Comfort food is what we came for!

Fresh Fried Oyster Po'Boy with Maine Cheddar Mac

The fresh oysters were lightly friend in cornmeal batter. They were so fresh they practically melted in my mouth. I swear they shucked them right before they fried them. So. Darn. Good. The mac and cheese was so creamy and sharp. I am dreaming about having a bowl of it right now! That alone is worth a trip at dinner.

Mark decided to go with the catfish ($14.95).

Cornmeal crusted catfish with Maine shrimp in a tasso cream sauce

The fresh fish was covered in a light cream sauce with perfectly cooked tiny Maine shrimp (and those shrimp are so small and delicate they are easy to overcook, but they know what they are doing here). He was quite pleased with it, but opted for rice instead of the traditional grits. He liked it, but said he would try something different the next time we go.

All in all, I think it’s a great place to treat yourself and the ones you love to some Southern style soul food. It’s a little off the beaten path so I don’t think it’s been fully discovered for dinner yet. I can’t wait to go back!

Hot Suppa on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Take Your Mouth Down South at Hot Suppa”

  1. Corey Templeton August 1, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    The po’boy looks great. I keep telling myself to try this place out sometime.

    • Bill Gayton August 2, 2011 at 12:46 am #

      The food here is incredibly good. I do hope more people will try it out and ensure its longevity.

      • Eat Here. Go There. August 17, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

        Yes, I do hope it stays! It’s at a good price point and incredibly fresh.

    • Eat Here. Go There. August 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      Corey, get yourself there! You will not be disappointed! Thanks for reading :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

