Maryland She Crab Soup

13 Feb

Good day friends,

I figured I better give you the recipe to my latest seafood recipe endeavor. I must admit, living in Maine has done wonders for my seafood cooking skills. I would rank myself above that jerk who runs Street and Co. (I boycott that place based on several unsavory experiences from friends and my own personal hero, Anthony Bourdain. If you consider yourself a foodie in any shape or form and you aren’t familiar with my dark and brooding secret crush assume a spot in front of the television and tune to the Travel Channel immediately. I am in L.O.V.E. He’s basically everything I wish I could be. He’s a curmudgeon of genius proportion.)

Ok, now on to the recipe!

You will need

16 oz. lump crab meat (don’t get the claw meat unless you are a complete cheapskate in which case it will work, but you will pull shell after shell from your mouth instead of just enjoying the soup)

1 medium white onion, chopped

1 carrot, chopped (for color)

1 celery stalk, chopped (for flavor)

2 tablespoons butter

16 oz heavy cream

1 cup Milk (skim works, but whole is divine)

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons Cooking Sherry

1 heaping tablespoon Old Bay seasoning (if you don’t like Old Bay, I don’t like you.)

Salt to taste

First, add butter to a medium sized sauce pan over medium-high heat. Put in the onions, carrot, celery and saute for about 10 minutes. In the meantime, mix flour and 1/2 cup of heavy cream to until smooth, this will become the thickening agent for the soup. Once the veggies have sweat it out add the thickening agent and the rest of the heavy cream and milk. Give it a good stir. It should thicken right before your eyes! (Note: If it’s too thick keep adding milk until you reach your desired consistency, but you want this soup to be THICK!) Now add the crab meat. Turn the heat to medium-low. Watch like a hawk. Do not let this boil it will taste like curdled milk, disgusting. Add Old Bay at this point, stir. Like I said, if you don’t like Old Bay, I hate you. Add the cooking sherry night before serving, you don’t want the alcohol to cook off. No cooking sherry? Add beer, but it won’t be as decadent. Now get a big loaf of french bread for dipping. Taste it, make sure it’s hot and deliciously spiced up with Old Bay. Put in bowls, add more Old Bay on top (can’t get enough) and add fresh chopped parsley if desired.

Chow down! Oh, and don’t forget the wine. Charles Shaw (two buck chuck) Pinot Grigio is perfect with seafood. I always have a bottle or three on hand.

And don’t forget to work out! This soup is calorie laden, some cardio will help you avoid that butt gut look. Buon Appetito Eat Here. Go There. fans!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

